Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Broken Arrow Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


National and state scholarship recipients

National Merit Finalists

Students who earn the highest PSAT/NMSQT® Selection Index scores during their junior high school year qualify for recognition in the National Merit® Scholarship Program.  There are 16,000 semifinalists across the United States each year. These students represent less than one percent of each state’s high school seniors.  

National Merit Finalists are selected from the 16,000 Semifinalists across the United States. This recognition is based on academic achievement throughout the four years of high school, PSAT test scores and an in-depth application process.  Broken Arrow High School has three National Merit Finalists this year. Our National Merit Finalists are: 

  • Michael Musa
  • Emily Newby
  • Emily Painter

National Merit Commended Scholar

In late September, more than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT® receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Commended Students are named on the basis of a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year and is typically below the level required for participants to be named Semifinalists in their respective states. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit® Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

  • Lydia Cottle

National Hispanic Recognition Program

In keeping with the College Board's mission to help students take advantage of the opportunities they have earned, each year the National Hispanic Recognition Program (NHRP) recognizes about 5,000 academically outstanding Hispanic/Latino high school juniors who score in the top 2.5% on the PSAT/NMSQT®. Our National Hispanic Scholar student is:

  • Jose Chavez

Oklahoma Academic All-State

The Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence is a privately-funded statewide nonprofit organization created to recognize and encourage academic excellence in Oklahoma’s public schools. These 100 top public high school seniors, selected from 535 nominations statewide, hail from 83 schools in 75 Oklahoma school districts. The 2019 Academic All-State Class is the 33rd to be selected by the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence. Since the award program’s inception in 1987, 3,300 high school seniors from 325 school districts have been named All-State scholars. Broken Arrow High School is proud to have an Oklahoma Academic All-State Scholar this year:  

  • Michael Musa

Oklahoma Academic Scholars

The Oklahoma Academic Scholar program recognizes the outstanding academic achievements of graduating seniors. These scholars earned a 27 or higher on the ACT or 1220 on the SAT AND have a 3.7 GPA or are ranked in the top 10% of our graduating class.  

Certificates will be placed in student diploma packets that students can pick up in mid-June.

Our Oklahoma Academic Scholars this year are:

  •  Ayesha Ahmad
  •  Jaclyn Almeida
  •  Aakar Aryal
  •  Julia Barnes
  •  Garrett Bias
  •  Sarah Bowman
  •  Sarah Bryson
  •  Ashlynn Buffington
  •  Jose Chavez
  •  Dax Childress
  •  Paige Cooper
  •  Lara Cory
  •  Lydia Cottle
  •  Christoph Cowden
  •  Joshua Cowing
  •  Immanuel Deleon
  •  Hope Dewey
  •  Ethan Disney
  •  April Duff
  •  Derick Dufriend
  •  Kathryn Dunbar
  •  Jonathon Elliott
  •  Gina Ferrante
  •  Kolby Friebus
  •  Trinity Fulton
  •  Baron Gaines
  •  Kilie Goins
  •  Colby Hayes
  •  Jonas Heath
  •  Gina Herring
  •  Zlatina Hristova
  •  Kenia Hubler
  •  Keaton Hurt
  •  Kevin Inman
  •  Bethany Jenson
  •  Keyera Lantroop
  •  Alleigh Lawrence
  •  Daniel Li
  •  Conner Lindell
  •  Stephen Lindhorst
  •  Riley Livingston
  •  Luke Macomber
  •  Monica Malcom
  •  Leishan Marasigan
  •  Jaaylin Martin
  •  William Martin
  •  Melissa Mata
  •  Rohi Mathew
  •  Eryka McCarty
  •  Katherine McGuffin
  •  Madison McGuire
  •  Hunter Morris
  •  Michael Musa
  •  Kaylee Neighbors
  •  Emily Newby
  •  Y Nhu Nu Nguyen
  •  Randie North
  •  Emily Painter
  •  Gracie Palmer
  •  Sawyer Paris
  •  Lindsay Petitt
  •  Alexandra Roberts Hu
  •  Jordan Rogers
  •  Luke Runnels
  •  Kiegan Ryan
  •  Corbin Shaffer
  •  Keri Sharp
  •  Allison Shaw
  •  Tyler Sloan
  •  Wesley Sloan
  •  Darrien Snyder
  •  Autumn Sterling
  •  Kellie Studebaker
  •  Sergian Thomas
  •  Avery Thompson
  •  Robyn Thornton
  •  Michlo Torres
  •  Lauren Vaca
  •  Debbie Lee Vandever