Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Broken Arrow Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


Nine Broken Arrow High School students named National Merit Semifinalists

Back row – Beau Aafedt, Ethan Anderson, Alexander Kirby Middle row – Tristen McCarter, Kyle Bergwall, Daniel Oh Front row – Grace Lee, Lydia McNally, Evan Kamriguel

Nine Broken Arrow High School students are named as this year’s National Merit Semifinalists for their prestigious academic accomplishments.

Beau Aafedt, Ethan Anderson, Kyle Bergwall, Evan Kamriguel, Alexander Kirby, Grace Lee, Tristen McCarter, Lydia McNally and Daniel Oh are among approximately 16,000 students from across the nation who have qualified for this honor and are some of the highest scoring students in the state of Oklahoma.

“Being named a National Merit Semifinalist is one of the greatest academic accomplishments a high school student can achieve,” Superintendent Dr. Janet Vinson said. “I hope you’ll join me in congratulating each of them. The level of hard work and commitment they have shown is admirable and a source of inspiration for our younger students.”

Established in 1955, the National Merit Scholarship Program is a long-standing academic competition for recognition and scholarships. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as an initial screen of nearly 1.5 million entrants each year.

From there, 34,000 students are commended and 16,000 semifinalists are chosen. Every year in February, 15,000 finalists are chosen based on their abilities, skills and accomplishments. From March to mid-June, approximately 8,000 students will be selected to receive a scholarship award, which includes National Merit Scholarships as well as corporate- and college-sponsored scholarships.

For more information about the National Merit Scholarship Competition, please visit http://www.nationalmerit.org/.