Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Broken Arrow Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


Walmart awards $1,000 classroom grants to 12 BA teachers through “BA Teacher Hero” campaign

Launch the first image gallery player

Managers and associates from the three Broken Arrow Walmart stores visited Broken Arrow school sites yesterday to surprise 12 Broken Arrow teachers who were selected through the “BA Teacher Hero” campaign with $1,000 grants for their classrooms.

“Walmart’s generosity will have such an incredible impact on these teachers and their students,” said Coordinator of Community Development Amanda Grace. “It was incredible to see how the teachers reacted when they learned they were selected, but it was even more inspiring to see the smiles and excitement from their students once they understood what that meant for them.”

The Broken Arrow Walmart stores located at 3900 E. Hillside Dr., 2301 W. Kenosha St., and 6310 S. Elm Pl. asked students and parents to nominate teachers who have inspired them by uploading a short video to their Facebook or Twitter pages.

Walmart store managers and associates reviewed the submissions with Broken Arrow Public Schools staff members and selected the most inspiring stories to receive $1,000 each.

The selected teachers will be able to use the funds for supplies and other needs they have within their classrooms.

“We’re part of neighborhoods and communities across the country, 4,800 of them,” said Greg Foran, president and CEO, Walmart U.S. “The role Walmart and our associates play in communities is an important part of our company’s heritage and a source of pride for us.”

As part of Walmart’s larger community engagement initiative, the three Broken Arrow stores are also donating $3,000 to help establish the new esports program at Broken Arrow High School.

Last year, Walmart gave more than $42 million in local grants and store associates volunteered 776,000 hours to organizations in their communities.

Walmart BA Teacher Hero grant recipients:

  • Justin Ennis (Centennial Middle School)
  • Krystal Haley (Country Lane Primary)
  • Tabitha Harriger (Wolf Creek)
  • Amanda Latta (Wolf Creek)
  • Dana Lawson (Wolf Creek)
  • Sweta Mahapatra (Arrow Springs ECC)
  • Jennifer Montgomery (Aspen Creek ECC)
  • Victoria Saied (Highland Park)
  • Taylor Sawyer (Leisure Park)
  • Mindy Schmind (Sequoyah Middle School)
  • Stephanie Shipley (Oliver Middle School)
  • Judy Stanart (Arrowhead)