Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Broken Arrow Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


Broken Arrow Board of Education members honored in January

Picture of Board of Education membersLaunch the first image gallery player
5c34cadfda7f7John Cockrell, Steve Allen, Dr. Janet Dunlop, Brandy Roulet, Jerry Denton and Steve Majors
John Cockrell, Steve Allen, Dr. Janet Dunlop, Brandy Roulet, Jerry Denton and Steve Majors

This month is School Board Recognition Month – a time designated to salute the work of more than 2,700 elected school board members for their untiring dedication to public education.

“At Broken Arrow Public Schools, we are privileged to have five committed individuals who play a vital role in serving our students, staff and community,” Superintendent Dr. Janet Dunlop said.  

The five members are Steve Allen, President; Steve Majors, Vice President; Jerry Denton, Clerk; John Cockrell, Deputy Clerk; and Brandy Roulet, Member.

“Each of these individuals develop policies and make tough decisions on complex education and social issues impacting the entire community,” Dunlop said. “They bear the responsibility of a $112 million budget, which serves more than 19,000 students and 2,000 district employees. They carry out the truest form of representative government in our democracy – volunteer public service.”

The Board is responsible for establishing policies under which the school system operates while acting within the framework of Oklahoma and federal laws. As citizen leaders, individual school board members contribute hundreds of hours each year to leading the district, whether it be crafting policies, listening to staff and student concerns, or recognizing outstanding programs.

“I hope each of you will help me take a moment to express appreciation for each of them and the effort they invest in improving our district,” Dunlop said.

Learn more about each member by visiting www.baschools.org/BoardofEducation.