Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Broken Arrow Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


School-record 26 band students earn all-state recognition

Launch the first image gallery player

The Oklahoma Music Educators Association (OKMEA) recently awarded all-state honors to a school-record 26 Broken Arrow High School band students.

The process to earn this prestigious recognition starts with a series of blind musical auditions with a screen separating the performer and the judges. Preliminary auditions are held at 10 regional sites across Oklahoma with a specific quota per site advancing to the next round.

The final evaluation took place last Saturday with more blind performance auditions. Students who advanced to the finals were given just four weeks to perfect new audition music once they qualified. The top-scoring students on each instrument earn spots on the all-state bands. Those students will meet at the OKMEA’s annual convention in January with a nationally-acclaimed conductor. The conductor and students rehearse for two days to prepare for All-State concerts to conclude the Oklahoma Music Educators Conference.

Congratulations to the following Broken Arrow students for earning all-state recognition:

Flute - Kara Buchanan - Wind Ensemble

Flute - Monica Malcolm - Symphonic Band

Flute - Jayci Gould - Symphonic Band

Flute - Megan Hicks - Orchestra

Flute - Addison Smith - Alternate

Oboe - Anna Manes - Symphonic Band

Oboe - Fernanda Sanchez - Orchestra

Oboe - Alivia Jenson - Alternate

Clarinet - Dylan Parks - Symphonic Band

E flat Clarinet – Chesney Grimes – Alternate

Alto Saxophone – Chase Wolters - Alternate

Trumpet - James Trainer Stauffer - Wind Ensemble

Trumpet - Luke Antloger - Wind Ensemble

Trumpet - Steven Van Heel - Symphonic Band

Trumpet - Aiden Catlin - Symphonic Band

Trumpet - Garron Denney - Orchestra

Horn - Caleb Martin - Orchestra

Horn - Josiah Courtney – Orchestra

Horn - Mason Simmons - Orchestra

Trombone - Madison Jensen - Wind Ensemble

Trombone - Kamden Minor - Symphonic Band

Trombone - Kyle Van Pelt - Symphonic Band

Euphonium - McKenzie Munson - Wind Ensemble

Euphonium - Shawn Carey

Tuba - Logan Winiecke - Symphonic Band

Tuba - Caleb Shelton - Alternate