Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Broken Arrow Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


District announces 2017-18 Site Teachers of the Year

Launch the first image gallery player

Broken Arrow Public Schools (BAPS) has announced its 2017-18 Site Teachers of the Year, each of whom will be considered for District Teacher of the Year to be announced at the annual Star Awards Gala this spring.

“Our district employs some of the most talented and innovative educators in the state,” BAPS Superintendent Dr. Janet Dunlop said. “These 28 educators were carefully selected by their colleagues for exemplifying an incredible commitment to serving our students. To each of the winners, thank you for sharing your passion for teaching with Broken Arrow Public Schools.”

Known as one of the highest honors a teacher can receive, Broken Arrow’s Site Teachers of the Year will submit a portfolio to the BAPS Teacher of the Year Professional Development Committee, a group composed of teachers, administrators and previous Teachers of the Year.

“As a committee, we meet to thoroughly evaluate each portfolio, conduct interviews and select the best candidate for District Teacher of the Year,” BAPS Executive Director of Elementary Education Jennifer Peterson said. “Although the process is quite rigorous, it allows us to not only honor outstanding educators in our district but also helps all of our educators strive to be the best they can be for the benefit of our students.”

This year’s district winner will be announced this spring. From there, he or she represents BAPS in the State Teacher of the Year competition next summer.

Congratulations to the 2017-18 Site Teachers of the Year:

Arrow Springs ECC

Becky Rogalski

Aspen Creek ECC

Micah Perkins

Creekwood ECC

Heather Goodacre

Park Lane ECC

Elizabeth Wharton

Arrowhead Elementary

Robyn Carey

Aspen Creek Elementary

Chuck Horstman

Country Lane Primary

Krystal Haley

Country Lane Intermediate

Kathy Williams

Creekwood Elementary

Judi Mulcahy

Highland Park Elementary

Ashley Hefley

Leisure Park Elementary

Stacy Ley

Liberty Elementary

Kimberly Slater

Lynn Wood Elementary

Judy Mullins

Oak Crest Elementary

Crystal Taylor

Rhoades Elementary

Gina Scott

Spring Creek Elementary

Karla Cox

Timber Ridge Elementary

Elizabeth Cockrum

Vandever Elementary

Jennifer Hinkle

Wolf Creek Elementary

Mallory Davis

Centennial Middle School

Ruth Biggs

Childers Middle School

Cyndi Jackson

Oliver Middle School

Debra Carroll

Oneta Ridge Middle School

Stefanie Cottrell

Sequoyah Middle School

Gayle Hahn

Freshman Academy

Arica Loyd

Broken Arrow High School

Shelly Swisher


Jill Taylor

Broken Arrow Options Academy

Ashley Tselee